Books · Uncategorized

Book Haul

Hello!

How is April treating you all? I hope everything is okay. I seem to have more motivation to do things at the moment and it’s definitely making life a little bit better. I daren’t say much more and jinx it because knowing me, things will go south immediately.

Anyway, I’m here today with a book haul because I did receive and treat myself to some books for my birthday a few days ago. I know I’m meant to be cutting down on the book buying until after YALC, but birthday books, as well as a new set of crochet hooks, sort of come hand in hand with birthday money. They’ve also been on my wish list for a while now so it made sense to pick them up!

Anyway…

I have a number of books to get through so I’ll quit rambling.


Books From My Sister:

IMG_0518              fullsizeoutput_dd

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi – to finally have this in my possession is really exciting. I’ve heard nothing but incredible things about this book and ever since my sister bought it for me, I’ve been dying to read it. That wait is now over and I can’t wait to dive into it in the next few days.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – I’ve debated about reading this book for a while and now I have it, I am much more likely to pick it up. I’ve wanted to read another Patrick Ness book since A Monster Calls and I think this one will be right up my street.

fullsizeoutput_df             fullsizeoutput_de

State of Sorrow by Malinda Salisbury – I can’t count the number of times Beth has told me to pick up Malinda Salisbury’s The Sin Eater’s Daughter trilogy but I thought it would be better to read this first before diving head first into a trilogy I wasn’t completely sure of. I’ve heard a few mixed things about it but it looks beautiful and sounds interesting, so I’ve not that much to lose really.

The Beast Player by Nahoko Uehashi – This is the case where the cover called and I came running. My sister, bless her, just stared into the abyss when she saw me running to this book, not knowing how to deal with my reactions to this gorgeous looking book. I think this is the book that intrigues me the most out of them all because I’ve not read a Japanese-inspired fantasy before and it sounds very mysterious.

Books I bought:

fullsizeoutput_e2       fullsizeoutput_e1

The Red Rising series by Pierce Brown – in the last few weeks or so, I placed a poll on Twitter asking for a little bit of help in deciding which book series I should buy for myself. It was between Red Rising and The Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey and Red Rising won by a fair bit – 60:40. Compared to the other books, this is one series I have already read before on my kindle but I’ve always wanted physical copies because I know I’d be more inclined to finish and re-read it. Both of my closest bookworm friends rave about it too so I want to understand why they love it so much.

The Queen’s Rising by Rebecca Ross – I can’t remember what book I was looking at on Amazon, but this one showed up under recommended books and everything about it hooked me instantly. It’s a pretty cover, the synopsis is intriguing and it’s a YA Fantasy I’ve heard absolutely nothing about despite it being a fairly new release. The synopsis on Amazon also recommends it for fans of Six of Crows and Throne of Glass and as I like both of those series, it’s worth giving this a shot!


That is it. It’s a rather exciting haul for a change and I can’t wait to dive into all of these books when I’m in the mood for them. I think the first one might be Children of Blood and Bone though.

fullsizeoutput_e0


Anyway…

Have you read any of these books?
What are your opinions?

Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

 

13 thoughts on “Book Haul

    1. They’re both on my YALC tbr so I hope to read them soon. I just hope I love them as much as everyone else seems to.

      Like

Leave a Reply to journeyintobooks Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.